review: maxi-peel exfoliant cream nos. 1 and 2



before and after using maxi-peel

before (left) and after (right). i understand that photos may not be reliable due to changes in lighting, location, etc. but note that the 2 photos were taken outdoors, with no flash, and although slightly, the right photo is lighter than the left.


I used it for 3 months, religiously applying twice everyday — after taking a bath in the morning and after washing my face before sleeping at night. It worked pretty well on me.


During the first two weeks, my face was stinging and i suddenly developed a lot of blackheads and pimples. It resided after two more weeks of constant usage. no. 2 works faster than no. 1 (well, duh). Peeling is observed in the first month of usage (so about 4 weeks for no. 2, while 6 weeks for no. 1).


1. ) The peeling is normal. Don’t get too happy and excited just because you can see that you are exfoliating (and therefore the product is working). DO NOT EVER TAKE THE PEEL OFF. Don’t force it dude. let it peel on its own so no discoloration would happen. I have heard  of people looking like victims of Vitiligo because they forced the peeling.

2.) Just to be sure, always put on sunscreen on your face even if you’re not regularly exposed to the sun. I use maxi-peel’s sunblock with spf20. It was fine and my face never got burned (spf20 is even actually quite low. so if you could, buy something with higher spf).

2.) Make sure to not stay under the sun long enough for you to burn. Objectively, that would be about more than a cumulative of 10 minutes (emphasis on cumulative). I would always use an umbrella when i go out. I make it a point to avoid staying outdoors.  (Updated) A person commented (thanks for illuminating me Rae) that maxi-peel cream is made up of glycolic acid, salicylic acid, and niacinamide. Glycolic acid is a chemical compound with really small molecules that can penetrate skin easily and deeply to facilitate treating fine lines, acne, blackheads, oiliness, etc. However, there are riks to to this like hyperpigmentation, hypersensitivity to the sun, etc. You could read more benefits and risks of Glycolic acid here. Salicylic acid treats mild to moderate acne by shedding dead cells from the top layer of the skin. Read more about the benefits and side effects of Salicylic acid here. Niacinamide is said to help maintain healthy skin. Learn more about it here. Maxi-Peel exfoliant solution, meanwhile, contains Hydroquinon, a factor that inhibits melanin production in the skin. Melanin causes skin browning. It is a natural mechanism of the skin to prevent skin cancer from heat and radiation. Using the solution would remove the skin’s natural ability to protect itself from the sun’s harmful UV rays.


Using this product makes me more susceptible to the dangers of the heat of the sun. but i gambled it all to have fairer skin, which i eventually had. I had to stop though for fear that too long use of the product might lead to skin complications.

A week after i stopped, my past skin color came back that i decided to use another product, Garnier light day and night cream (see my review for Garnier light day and night cream).

*I tried only the 1 and 2 of the maxi-peel exfoliant creams because my face wasn’t really that bad.


I think Maxi-peel has potential in erasing blackheads and impurities from any part of the body. My sister uses Maxi-peel exfoliant solution #3 to remove blackheads and scars from her legs. She says it’s very effective.

8 thoughts on “review: maxi-peel exfoliant cream nos. 1 and 2

  1. I think the cream doesnt have hydroquinone. But it has glycolic acid, salicylic acid, and niacinamide. Glad to know it worked for you.

    • Hi mhon! thanks for commenting and I apologize for replying 2 years late. I hope by this time, you have already gotten your wanted results. But to answer your question, I think it depends on how fair you want your skin to look like. I recommend you use it until your desired skin fairness (but take note that we also don’t want our face to be significantly fairer than most of our visible body parts like arms and legs). Maybe you can also use Maxi-peel to your other parts of the body. My sister tried Maxi-peel solution for her legs and tells me it has removed most of her dark brown to gray scars and made her legs fairer. I also would recommend that after using Maxi-peel cream 3 for quite a time and after getting your desired skin fairness, for maintenance, try substituting it with less concentrated Maxi-peel cream 2, then 1. We don’t want our skin to be fed up with all these chemicals and be hypersensitive all the time. :)

  2. Hi there! I have a acne problem but i dont want to use maxipeel solution i just want to use maxi peel exfoliant cream #3. I’ve been using it for two days. My quetion is how long should i use or apply exfoliant cream #3? Pls answer my question..

  3. Another question pls. This is my regimen:
    for the day i wash my face with maxi peel facial wash, after that i put maxi peel concealing cream. In the night before i sleep, i wash again my face with maxi peel facial wash, then i use maxi peel toner. Then after using toner i apply maxi peel exfoliant cream #3, then i apply maxi peel moisturizer. Is my regimen are okay? Im scared to get worst ang irritate my pimples thats why i want to consult it first to you.. Pls answer this! Salamat.

    • Wow you’re a loyal user mhon! I am not really sure how that will work out as I haven’t tried a such a regimen like yours. To me though, your regimen sounds a bit too rigorous, with too much chemicals involved. But I am excited to find out how well it worked for you so kindly update me pls!

      An unsolicited advice on treating pimples, I have friends who have lush pimples (think Sierra Madre, Himalayas, etc.) who said Cetaphil did it for them. I haven’tr tried Cetaphil, but what’s there to lose?

Share your thoughts...

